Harvestmen and Purple blooms

Bulusan's flora and fauna in situ , Bulusan Volcano Natural Park, 2014

Bulusan’s flora and fauna in situ , Bulusan Volcano Natural Park, 2014

An FB friend added me to another facebook group that showcases assorted kinds of spiders and related fauna in the Philippines posted by its members. The addition was prompted because of my recent post of the above photo of a wild flora and fauna from BVNP. I was glad to the add because it started my education about Philippine spiders.

The response to my  post with this photo in the biodiversity FB group was already an exciting sign — I committed a common name error for my spider photo. Immediately I was corrected by another member by calling my attention to my post: “Correction: those are harvestmen not spiders.”  “Daddy long legs,” says another and shortly the long-legged creatures were  given a species id. As to the flora with the purple blooms, this was earlier identified in the facebook page of the Co’s Digital Flora of the Philippines as an Amischotolype species.

I never thought that my photo from the boondocks will have such a long thread of discussion in three biodiversity FB sites. Wonderful!

Photo: Alma P. Gamil

Bulusan, Sorosogon, Philippines

Leave a Reply

