Image

A time to plant : Photos of rice planting season in Bulusan

Rice field ready for planting, Taowg, Bulusan, June 2014

Rice field ready for planting, Bulusan, June 2014

A time to plant : view from a rural jeepney How can I forget the passing and cycle of seasons? It is hard not to be mindful when the beauty of the landscapes of the countryside is the default mode. Its beauty assault I cannot ignore even if the glimpse will take only a second to snap from a passing jeepney. I have to be really fast during these shoots when I have to position my camera inside a running jeepney oftentimes myself occupying the front seat.

For almost two (2) years documenting the fields along Bulusan route from a jeepney passenger perspective, these images (rice field photos) seem to appear like a slide show flowing flawlessly in a perfect cadence  in my mind. The borderline between my memories of past unending cycles of sowing and harvesting in these familiar routes seems to merge as I snapped away the landscapes of my town and its neighbors  from a jeepney — a habit probably now familiar with the local jeepney drivers in my hometown. Thanks to these rural jeepney drivers, they don’t mind this quirky habit of mine at all! In fact, they tend to follow the rhythm of the sound of the clicks of my camera during my shooting mode and sometimes give the go signal nudge for me to snap a view  and  to quip unexpectedly —  “that too, that is beautiful!”

SONY DSC

Rice planting season in Bulusan, 2014 (image #2)

Rice planting season with Bulusan Volcano as backdrop, June 2014.

Countryside scene, 19 June 2014

Countryside scene, 19 June 2014

Photos: Alma P. Gamil, Bulusan-Barcelona, Sorsogon  road view,  June 19, 2014

2 thoughts on “A time to plant : Photos of rice planting season in Bulusan

  1. Yes, Elmer…Bulusan has the best of two worlds…bukid at dagat ay magkatabi. Same sentiment here. Places like these are the best retirement places…plus the fact that it is a lot cheaper compared to retiring in the cities.

Leave a Reply

